mindfulness

The Joy 1000 Project

Hello my lovelies,

I read about the Joy 1000 Project on a blog called A Girl called Jack.  She’s a true inspiration and like most of us in the world do from time to time, she’s going through a hard time.

So, she came up with an idea to document things that bring her joy.  To quote her blog this is what she’s doing:

‘I’m going to find and document things that bring me joy. Counting my blessings, if you like. Partly to help with my ‘black dog’, the anxiety, the panic and fear that seems to have caught up with me lately (see the ‘I can’t even open my own front door’ article). Partly to remind myself in my busy days to pause and take a moment to savour joyful things. Partly to share the joy with you, my lovely readers. I’m just snapping things on my phone as I go about my day to day life, saving them in a folder, and I’ll share them here on my blog. Sometimes life can be so busy and the days so full and the deadlines so imminent and the abuse so torrential and the time flies so fast and there’s so much to do…’

And I think that’s a fine idea.  I suffer  with that bastard ‘black dog’ too…  thankfully less often than I used to. I’ve taught him to heel but some days he runs rampant. And, I am sure that living a more mindful life will help to keep him not only to heel but to do tricks.

So today, three things that bring me joy:

1. Watching my daughter sleep.  She mumbles the funniest little things in her sleep and kissing her warm snuggly little forhead as she sleeps makes me feel ridiculously happy and incredibly humbled.

2. The sun coming up earlier every day.  It makes me feel hopeful every morning when I wake at 6 am and stumble though to the kitchen to see the first fingers of light spearing the darkened sky.

3. A simple cup of tea. There is so much pure joy in a good cup of tea.

Brightest blessings my dear readers,

Mama R

x

Leave a comment