Family Command Centre

Hello my lovelies,

Today I wanted to share my Family Command Centre with you.

For the longest time, I have been struggling with keeping my household running smoothly.  I am one of those people who needs to have a plan. So I’d scribble my to do list on a piece of paper along with my grocery list which I’d lose in the course of the morning.  Then there would be letters about hospital appointments and notices about school trips that I would need to action. Those would get dumped in a pile somewhere I wouldn’t be able to lay my hands on them when I needed them.

You see, my problem stemmed from perfectionism. I wanted a Pinterest worthy home before I could organize it. I wanted everything to be like a House and Home magazine before I could create a system that works for me. And I realized that these were just yet more excuses!  I could stay unorganized  and anxious or I could live and work with what I have and feel less stressed.

So, I pulled my finger out and went shopping.  And after my hard work, this is what I came up with.

Again, excuse my horrid kitchen units. When I win the lottery, I’m going to replace them. For now, I’m stuck with making the best of it.

This is the side of my fridge. So, at Poundland I got this dry wipe board which I hot glued some magnetic strips so it sticks to the side of my fridge.  I got the striped pad at Pound World too. It came in a set of two – one for a grocery list and one for a to do. I cut it in half because I intended to use this ‘Fresh out of’ grocery list instead.   In the corner, is the holder the keeps my little menu idea cards that go with my menu planner which I’ll show below.

The holder is just a paper bag that I got in a pack from Ikea that I just laminated and cut down to size and glued on a magnetized strip.

IMG_4117

This menu planner was an idea from one of Clutterbug’s Youtube videos and I adapted it to suit my needs.  I had the photo frame already and just made it pretty with some scrapbook paper that I got in The Works.  The little pegs were from Wilko.  I made the text on my computer and laminated the small meal ideas for longevity.

Underneath is my calendar – I have turned it over to a blank page for privacy sake.

FullSizeRender (1)

I used another dry wipe board and attached it with blue tack to the side of the Kallax unit that I blogged about yesterday.  This one is for my daughter’s chores and things she can help me with, or activities we are doing that day or just for little messages from me.

She also has a behaviour chart of things she needs to work on. It’s actually a magnetized chart but I didn’t want the front of my fridge to get cluttered up.  It’s a dry wipe magnetized board which is really useful because the things we work on can change as they need to.  At the end of the week, my daughter, having worked on the behaviour modifications gets to choose a little treat from the treat bag.   I’ll post in another post.

FullSizeRender (2)

Inside my Kallax unit I keep my control journal, my Christmas planner and this box file.  IMG_4126

There are tabs for each of us and this is really to keep all the paperwork that comes into the house in one place for when I need it. I usually write anything that needs to be diarized on the calendar but then the paperwork will be kept in this folder for easy reference. IMG_4125

Inside the cupboard next to my menu planner is this chores checklist of my morning and evening routines.  It’s in a plastic folder so I can tick off the list with a dry wipe marker.

IMG_4127

I’m so proud of this Family Command Centre.  I got almost everything from Poundland/Poundworld or used what I had.  It is cute and functional and while it’s not perfect I am embracing the wise quote, ‘Progress not perfection’ right now.  I feel like I am making major progress and my mind feels clearer and less anxious.

What does your family command centre look like?

Bright blessings,

Mrs R

x

Leave a Reply

