DIY Harry Potter Christmas tree decorations

Hello my lovelies,

I’ve ditched the housework today and decided instead, to do some crafting.  You see, while browsing youtube a few weeks ago my daughter saw a tutorial for Harry Potter Christmas tree baubles and has asked if we can have a Harry Potter Christmas tree this year.  I’ve of course, said yes but she has no ideas I’m taking it a few steps further. More on that in my next post. So today, DD and I created our first tree decorations.

SONY DSC

hp christmas baubles

Before we go any further, I just want to point out that I also don’t like the bakers twine hanging the baubles to the tree. These will be replaced with bauble hangers at Christmas. I really didn’t fancy going up to the loft to get the Christmas decorations down to retrieve the hooks.

So, these baubles are actually really clever little shot baubles that my BFF picked up for me from a car boot sale for 20p.  When I saw them, I knew they’d be perfect for a potion baubles one day.  Didn’t realise I’d be doing a HP themed tree so soon but it’s all good.

DSC06432.JPG

The potion baubles were really easy to make.  I just designed some tiny labels on my computer, printed them off and stuck them onto the front of the baubles.  I covered the bauble with one coat of glitter mod podge and allowed them to dry.  Et voila!

I’m so pleased with how they came out.  It’s a pity that you can’t really see the glitter mod podge but it’s there. The glitter is subtle and I think it will add a lovely dimension on the tree.

The signs in the background are more of an upcycle than a from scratch project. I got them from Primark for £5 and while I liked the signs they were attached with black ribbon like you can see in the picture.

SONY DSCThe way it was wouldn’t work on the tree because it would be too long.  We simply removed the ribbon and the staples and glued on butchers twin. The twine is cut quite short so that it doesn’t hang too long on the tree and get in the way of other ornaments.

SONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSC

I love projects like this. Not much to do for big impact.

I hope you enjoyed the post and if you did, please leave me a message.

Bright blessings,

Mrs R

x

Leave a Reply

