Low carb lifestyle: The rest of the week

Hello my lovelies,

I was completely knackered on day 3 and forgot to blog. Then the rest of the week kind of ran away from me.

Day 3 wasn’t as bad as day 1 and 2.  I was in ketosis although I did feel tired and a bit grumpy.  It was a long day at work and to be honest, I had a hot bath and got into bed before 8 pm.

On Thursday, I ate cheesy scrambled egg for breakfast with Waitrose aromatic pork and herb chipolatas, salami and cheese roll ups (here I used Maasdam cheese slices) and for dinner since I was so tired, I had grilled bratwurst with cherry tomatoes and some homemade chilli mayonnaise.  For the chilli mayonnaise I just used mayo, a dollop of tomato puree and some chilli spice.

I woke up on Friday feeling like I had slept so well!  As a rule, I am not a great sleeper but can honestly say that I’ve slept incredibly well this week. I felt great all day and guzzled water like it was going out of fashion.  Not because I had to because I was on a diet but because I wanted it!  That’s a first for me!

I ate some of the keto quiche lorraine I had made on Wednesday morning and did a kind of mezze packed lunchbox for work.

Before work I needed to run some errands. When I stopped for a break, I had thought that I could no longer have coffee out.  You see, my poison of choice is a caramel or gingerbread latte. Both of which are high in sugar.  For those who don’t know, milk is naturally high in sugar. I didn’t think that coffee shops did pouring cream in their coffee but upon asking at Costa, I learned I was able to have a black coffee with sugar free caramel syrup with pouring cream! It was so good.

For dinner, I made a chicken fajita salad (I made the mix myself using a recipe online) and served it with avocado.

I was so excited by dessert!  It’s a quark and sugar free concoction that came out so yummy!

IMG_2310

Strawberry keto pudding: Makes 4 portions.

Mix 1 sachet of strawberry sugar free jelly with 200ml of boiling water and 85ml cream. Mix to dissolve the jelly crystals.

Mix in 1 scoop Vanilla or strawberry whey powder and a tub of quark. Beat to mix with an electric mixer.

Pour into four glasses and allow to set in the fridge. Top with a dollop of cream and a berry.

I would not suggest blackberry as in the picture as they were too sour to eat!

**************

Saturday’s breakfast was more quiche Lorraine with a spoon of leftover chicken fajita mixture. Nothing special there but tasty.

I had to go food shopping over lunch time and landed up eating 4 hot pepperoni sticks as I was shopping.  Nothing fancy but it was lunch.

For dinner, we had a bbq with friends and my diner was bbq food at it’s best. Salad with feta cheese, pork belly and a spiced chicken thigh. Oh and a dollop of garlic allioli. Total heaven! Again, I felt great yesterday and got so much done.  I spring cleaned and washed windows. Inside and out. Now, if you know me, you’ll know that I do not wash windows.  But, I had so much energy and felt like washing windows.

I’m not sure if this is cause for concern…. not the energy part but the washing of windows?  Definite cause for concern.

IMG_2320.JPG

Today was mothers day and hubby made breakfast for me:

IMG_2322

I weighed in this morning and I was down 4 lbs!  As I explained in the beginning, I had been playing at low carb since January and had dropped and gained the same half stone about 4 times.  Today, that half stone is gone and this time for good!

Since we were spending the day at Legoland I made myself a packed lunch because I didn’t know what would be on offer that I could eat.

IMG_2324

I had half a bag of pork scratchings (the other half I ate last night at the bbq in lieu of crisps), cheese wrapped bacon slices, some leftover feta from the bbq and some salami slices. Simple and yummy.

Dinner, was a mish mash of leftovers.  There were burger patties from the bbq, some creamed spinach and courgettes that was leftover from earlier in the week. I also roasted some radishes, having seen these on a youtube channel. Not impressed.  They weren’t good.

IMG_2361

I made a new quiche for the week and it’s an asparagus, mozzarella and feta cheese quiche. I’ll  post the recipe later in the week.

IMG_2364

My verdict for going on a  keto way of eating?  It’s incredible.  You can eat food with flavour that’s so satisfying. It’s tough at the beginning but if you stick with it you can expect a MASSIVE reduction in cravings, loads of energy and an incredible clarity of thought.

Yes, you read all that correctly.  I am not craving the foods I used to enjoy. I’ll see wine or sweets and go, ‘oh, I love those! But do I want them? No thanks.’  I haven’t missed the things I used to eat and I don’t feel deprived at all.

Win-win I think.

Bright blessings,

Mrs R

x

Leave a Reply

