Low carb lifestyle – day 1: The Keto Flu

Hello my lovelies,

As some of your may know I’ve dabbled with a low carb diet on and off for about a year.  I had some success on it which was short lived because I firstly, followed the concept too loosely and didn’t track what I was eating and secondly because having failed to get into ketosis, I gave into cravings and ate carbs again. I know that eating in a low car way will pay off in the long run it’s just getting over the initial hurdles.

For those who don’t know, ketosis is the state you body enters when you reduce your carbohydrates to 20g of carbs per day or less. It means that your body is using your fat stores as energy instead of the carbs and sugar that you are eating. Using fat as energy is a MUCH more efficient energy source than carbs.  As a result, your body enters into Ketosis, an optimum state for weight loss. Ketosis also keeps your blood sugar levels constant (making this a great diet for diabetics), suppresses your appetite to a certain degree and increases focus and energy.  Some people say that a low carb diet also helps to reduce anxiety.  I’m not 100% sure if that is true but I’m willing to give it a try.

The only downside about following a ketogenic diet is that for the first few days you get what’s know as the keto or low carb flu. It’s not an actual illness but rather a type of withdrawal that your body goes through as you rid it of sugar.  And it really sucks because it makes you feel like hell!

I started with dinner last night so today is essential day 1 for me. While I felt fine this morning, this afternoon I feel headachey, tired, moody and achy in my body.  I could really use a long hot bath and my bed but that’s not going to happen right now.  I know I will feel better in a few days but right now, I’m hating a ketogenic diet. Onwards and upwards though, right?  I’ll just drink enough water to sink a cruise ship, keep at or below 20g of carbs a day and stay busy.  Oh, and take a long hot bath and get into bed early.  I know that once I’m in ketosis, I will feel amazing so it will be worth it.  No, seriously, when I was in ketosis before I felt Wonder Woman amazing.

Besides feeling crappy, I’ve had some really yummy foods since last night. For dinner last night I had bacon and mushroom Meatza with mixed salad leaves and avocado

IMG_8875

This morning I had a chocolate and almond milk protein shake with bacon spinach stacks and garlic allioli

IMG_8879

For lunch I had a cheese and onion crustless quiche which was so lovely I ate it all before I could take a picture!

For dinner tonight, I have another slice of meatza with creamed spinach and steamed courgettes.  I can definitely get used to this!

I’ll check in tomorrow to let you know how it’s going,

bright blessings,

Mrs R

x

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

