Giant surprise centre cupcake

Hello my lovelies,

I’m just dropping in very quickly to show you the giant surprise centre cupcake I made for my daughter’s 6th birthday. But before I do, here’s a really quick tip so listen up really well…

NEVER LET YOUR 6 YEAR OLD LOOK FOR HER BIRTHDAY CAKE ON PINTEREST WITH YOU!

Let her see a board of approved cakes you think would be appropriate first.  My daughter chose the giant cupcake and thankfully it was relatively easy to make but some of the other cakes she liked left me feeling terrified.  How I would have made them, I have no idea!

Anyway, here’s the cake. It really was a thing of beauty.

13872704_10154171028810659_477681754464610935_n

I used the basic giant cupcake recipe from The Pink Whisk and changed it up by adding 30g of cocoa powder and decreased the flour by 30g.

I cut the base of the cupcake in half. I then made a basic icing and sandwiched the two pieces together with icing.  I then iced around the base of the cake and stuck on my chocolate fingers.  Once that was done, I scooped out a hole in the middle of the base (not all the way to the icing layer) and added in the Reeces peanut butter bits.  I smothered icing on the bottom of the top half and sandwiched the base and top together.

With me so far?  Good!

Next, I filled a piping bag and piped a small line of icing close to the top of the chocolate fingers and stuck on the maltesers.   Then I went to town piping rosettes all over the top of the cupcake.

I added maltesers and white chocolate stars at random and et voila!

When my daughter cut it open…

13900163_10154172839625659_5009191122227258553_n

Sorry about the bad quality picture, I had served up my daughter’s slice and hubby was complaining he wanted to sink his teeth into a slice but I was trying to take a picture.

This cake definitely had the wow factor!

Bright blessings,

Mrs R

x

Leave a Reply

