Best EVER cinnamon rolls

Hello my lovelies,

Did I ever tell you about my celebrity crush on The Pioneer Woman?

xnTXuATS

Oh, not in an icky way but in the, 0h-my-god-i-want-to-live-on-her-ranch-and-cook-with-her kind of way. I’m working on a way to get her to adopt me but I digress.   I started watching her tv series a couple of years ago and loved her then and of course, Sky decided to end the series half way though and only started at series 4 instead of series 1 but I was hooked.  I watched the episode when she made cinnamon rolls and I’ve wanted to make them ever since.

Today, after watching Ree make a pumpkin version of her cinnamon rolls last night, I decided the time had come for me to make her famous cinnamon rolls.

333323997_04bd8d6c532

You can totally tell those aren’t mine, can’t you? LOL!

You see, I’ve had a love affair with the South African kind of cinnamon rolls my whole life.  We call them Chelsea buns and while they are very similar (with raisins), just one look at Pioneer Woman’s cinnamon rolls and I can tell these are gonna be my old favourites on CRACK!

Before I start to tell you about my cinnamon roll journey today, I must give you a few words of advice on the outset.

  1. DO NOT CLEAN YOUR KITCHEN FROM TOP TO BOTTOM LIKE A DEMON WOMAN and then decide to make these. Bad, bad idea.
  2. Make sure you have everything set up before you start. I mean take out the cinnamon, sugar and every utensil you will need and have it next to you. If at all possible, work close to the sink.  This dough can be sticky and I now have sticky dough finger marks all over my kitchen cabinet doors and drawers.  Did I mention I cleaned my kitchen like a demon woman this morning?
  3. Also, make sure you have the disposable foil pans like the one above.  It really helps and as you will see mine didn’t smush together nicely like Ree’s did because I thought I knew better.
  4. Always trust The Pioneer Woman.
  5. A bag of powdered sugar (icing sugar) is supposedly 4 cups when I checked it online.
  6. Start the diet tomorrow.  There’s no point today when you’re going to be eating these.

I am not going to try to recreate the recipe here when there’s a perfectly good link to cinnamon roll perfection right here on The Pioneer Woman website.

I was quite surprised at how easy this recipe was.  It takes a little time, of course because there are a few stages but it’s not hugely labour intensive.

So, once I’d made the dough and allowed it to rise for 1 hour, I opted not to let it sit in the fridge for an hour.  This made it INCREDIBLY sticky.  I had to use at least a cup of flour on my counters and all over the dough to get it to a decent rolling consistency.

Once I’d poured on the butter sprinkled on the sugar and cinnamon and rolled it up, I had what looked like a giant earth worm.

13874925_10154165048635659_808783106_n

Seriously, this sucker was trying to slide off the counter.

Of course, since I thought I knew better than Pioneer Woman I used whatever pans I had instead of the round foil ones. 13871707_10154165047835659_1163353809_n

Since today is the coldest day we’ve had all summer there’s no warm sun coming in my kitchen windows like normal so I preheated the oven and opened the door to allow some of the warm air to help these babies rise for 20-30 minutes.

Then I got them in the oven while I made the frosting/icing.  When I made it up, it was too watery so I added another cup of icing sugar and it came out perfect.  Like the picture on Pioneer Woman’s post.

13900611_10154165047610659_989838931_n

Yeah, I had to switch to the iPad because my laptop battery died.

When they came out of the oven they were all golden and risen and smelled amazing!  I quickly go the icing on.

13883802_10154165145130659_817124706_n

I moved the folds of the cinnamon rolls a little to make sure that the icing really got into all the cracks and crevices.

Then I realised that that the icing had coffee in it and my 6 year old wouldn’t be able to have any. I don’t allow her coffee because she’s enough of a live wire all by herself.

So I made up a batch of icing sugar with water to pour over hers.

13900920_10154165146205659_114086831_n

And as you can see here’s yet another reason you should always trust The Pioneer Woman.  In those round foil dishes I wouldn’t have all the icing dropping off the sides!

I left the icing to set for a few minutes and then between my daughter and I, we couldn’t wait a second longer.

Don’t they look amazing!?

They taste like  a homemade miracle, trust me.

13874544_10154165144380659_253023647_n

I love how the ones made in the muffin tin look like a cinnamon roll muffin.

13875094_10154165144775659_3389529_n

All is right with my world.   I’m in a cinnamon roll induced coma and I’m perfectly okay with that.

Now if you’ll excuse me I gotta go clean my kitchen *sigh* again.

Bright blessings,

Mrs R

x

5 thoughts on “Best EVER cinnamon rolls

Leave a Reply

