The ultimate southern sweet ice tea

Hello my lovelies,

I’ve been reading Nora Roberts’ The Liar and I cannot tell you how much I looooooooooooooooove this book!  It’s pretty much one of the best books I’ve ever read not because it has the most scintillating plot but because of the characters.  I want to know these people.  I want to meet them and be accepted into their family or when I get reincarnated I want to be born into their family.   Anyhoo!

The characters in the book have been drinking sweet ice tea and being a bit of a geek I just had to try to make some myself.

13903441_10154162424915659_939307389498673352_n

I made it up early this morning and left it to get icy cold in the fridge.  My gosh, it’s deliciously refreshing!

This recipe will make approximately 1 litre of base sweet tea.   To make up a jug of iced tea, you will need to add 750ml of icy cold water to 250ml of the cold base sweet tea.  If the base has just been made and is still warm but you’d like to make up a batch of iced tea for later, add 750ml of cold water to 250ml of the warm base sweet tea and refrigerate for about 4 hours.  Overnight is better, I’m told.

To make the sweet tea base you will need:

  • 1 litre cold water (more for topping up)
  • 6 English breakfast tea bags (I used Twinings)
  • 1 1/2 cups of granulated sugar

Place 1 litre of water on to boil. Once it’s boiling, turn off the heat and dump in your tea bags and let them steep for 5 minutes. You can steep for longer than this if you prefer a stronger tea but it might turn a little bitter.

After 5 minutes, remove the tea bags and discard.  Pour in the granulated sugar and stir to completely dissolve.

Pour into a bottle and allow to cool for at least 30 minutes before placing in the fridge. Don’t ever put hot stuff straight into your fridge.

To serve your ice tea:

Fill a nice tall glass with ice and lemon slices. Or you could use orange slices, whichever you prefer. Next pour in your refrigerated ice tea. Top with a few bruised mint leaves and serve right away.

Enjoy!

Bright blessings,

Mrs R

x

 

2 thoughts on “The ultimate southern sweet ice tea

  1. Pingback: Summer round up

Leave a Reply

