New amazing way to bond with your daughter

Hello my lovelies,

IMG_8949

Today I wanted to talk to you about a meaningful way to connect with your kids, especially your daughters.  My little one is 5 turning 6 as she likes to remind me, and with our busy lives, I often find we don’t connect as much as I’d like.  It was really getting me down that I didn’t get enough time to really find out a little more about what makes my little girl tick when I happened upon a great idea on Pinterest.

It’s called the Mommy and daughter journal. We bought this pretty journal from WH Smith which my daughter decorated with stickers. And the basic idea is that as the Mommy, you start off by writing an introduction letter to your daughter.

 

Mine said:

 

Dear Darling,

Would you like to be my pen pal?  Instead of posting letters to each other, we can keep them in this lovely notebook.  Does that sound like fun?

I will write to you in the notebook and leave it on your bed.  Then, when you write back, start on a fresh page and when you’re done, leave the notebook on my bed.

You can write about anything you like! Things that make you happy or sad or even things that happen during your day.

In your first letter, please tell me two interesting things about you.

Love

Mommy

xxx

 

Let me tell you dear readers, when I first started this notebook I had no idea it would become such a brilliant tool and keepsake!

Not only does writing in it help my daughter with her literacy and handwriting skills but I’m finding out so many great things about my little girl.  Some of the entries bring tears to my eyes and I cherish every one of the little, ‘I love you mommy, you’re the best’ messages.  One day I will present this book to my daughter as a special keepsake gift.

So, how do you go about starting your own notebook?

Firstly, I would recommend taking your daughter shopping to choose a notebook that you both like.   While you’re there, pick up some cute pens, stickers and washi tape. My daughter loves to decorate in our notebook with washi tape and pictures for me.

Next, write your first entry to your daughter. Remember to keep it lighthearted and fun.

I don’t pressure my daughter to write in our journal. If I’ve written to her a few days before and she hasn’t written back, I gently remind her and she usually can’t wait to go write something for me.

I know that my daughter struggles sometimes, with her literacy at school when she has to write stuff from imagination.  She just doesn’t know what to write!  I reassure her that she’s not the only one who finds a blank piece of paper intimidating.  That’s why I have found it helpful to use prompts in my letters to her. For example, in my first letter to her, I prompted saying, ‘In your first letter, please tell me two interesting things about you.’ This helped to give her a starting point.  I do this with all my letters. Here are some examples of prompts I’ve used recently:

  • What are your favourite foods and why?
  • Which toy is your favourite and why?
  • Who is your favourite teacher and what do you like about her?
  • Let me know some fun things you would like to do during the school holidays
  • If you could be any animal, what would it be and why?

 

Another winner was an entry I wrote to my daughter listing ten things I loved about her.  The return message squeezed my heart.  She wrote ten things back to me and oh deary me, they were so precious!

Don’t forget when you are writing your prompts to give your answers to your own prompts. Tell your daughter what your favourite foods are and why.  This helps the bonding process and makes your journal feel less of an interrogation!

I always remember to slip in compliments on what my daughter has done well and to tell her how proud we are of her and how much we love her. To me, you can’t tell your kid these things enough.  No adult ever complained to the shrink that their parents told them they were proud of them and loved them too often!

I’m honestly so glad we started this very special little practice.  Try it and see what an impact it has on your relationship with your little girl.

 

Bright blessings,

Mama R

x

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

