Gratitude

inspiretree

Hello my lovelies,

This month, I have been really trying very hard to embrace gratitude.

This is not necessarily something that is easy for me because you see, I have hungry eyes.  Having come from a dirt poor background, I see lovely things and I want them.  And if I can’t have those things I tend to feel very discontent.  I feel grumpy and lousy and I feel sorry for myself.

One morning I was walking down my road towards the shops thinking about all the things that still needed to be finished on Swish Cottage and I was feeling really very grumpy about it.  Suddenly, out of nowhere, I felt convicted to start counting my blessings. I started walking slower and I started to mentally check off things to be grateful for on an imaginary list. And I was so blown away by how blessed I was that I stood there on the pavement on the way to the shops and sobbed. Later, I posted this on my Facebook feed

… hold on a sec….

I just had to go and find it on Facebook…

1 December 2015

‘Sometimes I get so caught up in life and focused on all the things I don’t have that I forget to be grateful for the wonderful things I do I have. I have a loving family, a sturdy warm home, a heathy body, an almost sound mind (lol), an education, food to eat, a bed to sleep in, somewhere to get clean, running water, clothes and shoes and good friends. To some this makes me the most blessed person in the world because they have none of these. Take a moment to be thankful for what you have today.’

And you know, the funny thing is that every day, I’ve tried remember to be thankful for something. I’ve said it out loud.  I’ve been thankful for all sorts of things and the more thankful I have been the more I have had to be thankful for. Sometimes, I feel so humbled by how blessed I am.

Today I was watching a program on telly while I was tidying up the living room, as you do, y’know?

And it showed people living in Nairobi on a dump site.  Yes, you read that right.  People; human beings like you and me, living on a dump site.  Amongs mountains of filthy stinking rubbish.  I couldn’t believe my eyes. I stood transfixed and watched in horror as John Bishop interviewed this little girl. She couldn’t have been more than 7 years old. She’d been born IN THE DUMP SITE. No jokes. John asked this little girl what the best thing she’d ever found on the dump site was and she said, ‘rice to eat.’ Readers, I wept!

I thought of the feasting and merriment I had enjoyed during the month of December and I realised in that moment, that to someone like that little girl, I lived like a Queen.  My DD asked me why I was crying and I explained to her about what was happening on telly and how truly blessed we were.  And you know, I honestly think she got it.  She realised too that we are so incredibly blessed.

Tonight, I couldn’t help but write this and I urge you. Count your blessings.  Focus on what you have and just be grateful right from the bottom of your heart because there is always something to be grateful for.

Bright blessings, my friends,

Mama R

x

 

One thought on “Gratitude

Leave a Reply

