DIY Mr & Mrs burlap wedding bunting

Hello my lovelies,

I made this lovely bunting for Sarah from Kippers and Curtains wedding and just had to share the tutorial. It was time consuming but quite easy to make. To be honest, it’s the kind of bunting I’d have loved to have had at my wedding but I had no concept of bunting 10 years ago!

Of course, I’ve staged my mantle with one of my wedding pictures but I’m seriously considering making myself some bunting just like this for my bedroom.   I was lucky enough to find some blooming lilacs in my garden and my living room is filled with the lovely scent! Ah, don’t you just love Summer time?

IMG_9721

You will need:

Burlap (about half a metre)

Lace fabric (a quarter of a metre will be more than enough)

Contrasting floral fabric (scraps will do)

Iron on interfacing (a small piece will do)

Cream/white fabric (again, a small piece will do)

Mr & Mrs templates created on your computer and cut out

Roughtly 2 metres of Bias binding

Modge podge

A paint brush

A hot glue gun

A sewing machine with white thread

To making bunting you will first need to cut out a triangle template. If you’re not confident to cut one out you can find templates online.

On your computer in a word processing program type out the words MR & MRS in a font large enough to fit nicely into your triangles. Print these off and cut them out. Set aside.

Once you’ve got your template cut out, pin it to your burlap and cut out as many triangles as you will need. In this case, 8 triangles of burlap. You will also need 2 triangles cut out of lace and you will need to cut out two hearts from contrasting fabric.

IMG_9639

Once you’ve got your triangles cut out you will need to modge podge the edges of the burlap triangles. This helps to stop the burlap from fraying.  Leave these to dry on some newspaper.

When they are dry, place the 2 lace triangles on top of two dried burlap triangles and sew along the edges.

IMG_9650

Pin the hearts onto the middle of the lace burlap triangles and sew around the edges of the hearts.

Iron on a piece of iron on interfacing to the back of your cream/white fabric.  Now hold your [paper etters on the fabric and cut them out.  You will be tempted to pin these on before you cut them out but I don’t recommend you do this because it will leave pin marks. Trust me, I know!

IMG_9672

Anyway, once your letters are cut out of interfacted fabric hot glue them onto your burlap squares.  Make sure you get all the edges so that it lays nice and flat once stuck down.

Allow to dry completely.

IMG_9671

Pin the triangles onto your bias binding.  I left 3 fingers space between the heart lace triangle and the first M and then again before the R.  I left just over 4 fingers space between the R and the ampersand. Continue in this way spacing it so it looks good to you.

Sew a straight line along the bias binding about a quarter of an inch from the edge and you’re done!

It’s easy and looks so pretty strung on the main table or above the cake table. The couple can use it as a decoration in their bedroom after the wedding.

Happy crafting!

Bright blessings,

Mama R

x

One thought on “DIY Mr & Mrs burlap wedding bunting

Leave a Reply

