DIY Harry Potter Wands

Hello my lovelies,

Welcome to the first craft project in preparation for the Hogwarts Holiday at Home Program.  To find out all about this awesome home camp check out my post here.

IMG_9291

Before the summer holiday plan begins, a special delivery package will be delivered to our front door for my little witchlett.  Since she’s not 11 she can’t yet go to Hogwarts so there will be an acceptance letter into the Hogwarts Holiday at Home program instead.  The care package will include lots of yummy treats and all the essentials that a little witchlett will need for her fun magical studies and activities.   The first item in the package will of course be a wand.

I wanted to show you the wands I made for her and I yesterday.   I’m going to be a Hogwarts teacher so I’ll have to have a wand, right? LOL!

For this project you’ll need a couple of chopsticks or two fat wooden knitting needles. Just so you know I sanded down the points of the needles so they weren’t sharp as a safety precaution.

IMG_9278

You will also need a hot glue gun, some beads, two pretty buttons with the shanks broken off with a pair of pliers, brown acrylic paint, pretty nail varnish (or acrylic paint in different colours), nail glitter (or regular fine glitter), some newspaper and a hair dryer.

Here are my pretty butons.

IMG_9279

Once your glue gun is heated up squeeze loads of glue into the base/top part of the knitting needle with the aim of creating a handle for your wand.

I wanted to use the buttons for the top parts of the handles so I splodged loads of glue on, stuck on my button and used more hot glue to fill in any gaps. Add your beads being careful not to burn your fingers. When the glue is dry enough that it does to stick to your fingers but still tacky mould it between your hands to get the shape of handle you want. Add more glue along the length of your wand as you like.

PLEASE BE CAREFUL BECAUSE HOT GLUE CAN GIVE YOU BLISTERS ON YOUR FINGERS!  *voice of experience there*

I couldn’t take any pictures of this process because I was too busy actually doing it.

Here’s the first wand done up to this point.

IMG_9280

Here’s the button in the base – quite a nice touch I think.

Complete this process for as many wands as you are making. Here’s the back of my wand.

and both of them together.

My wand  – sorry I cut off the tip a bit I was distracted by George.

Different sizes of beads give a different texture so play around with it to get the look you want.

Allow the glue to dry completely then paint with brown acrylic paint. I used my hair dryer on the cool setting to dry the paint. FYI if you use the hot setting on your hair dryer the glue will start to become soft again and the paint starts to melt off!

Decorate as you wish.

I didn’t have many pretty colours of acrylic paint so I used nail polish and nail art glitter. Talk about using what you have on hand!

And here they are!

My completed wand – not as pretty as DD’s but I like it.

The handle of my wand.

And DD’s wand.  I’m really proud of it and I think she’s going to love it. It’s blinged up!

I just love how the hot glue dried making this sort of natural drip. I think it makes it look a little authentic, I think. Of cours she’s gonna love the pink and blue ‘jewels’.

and my favourite part of her wand is the blinged up base – that flower button with the glitter around it looks really cute. I’m so chuffed with it!

Voila! Couldn’t be easier and it looks so effective.

Stay tuned because next up will be a Gryffindor Robe.

Bright blessings,

Mama R

x

7 thoughts on “DIY Harry Potter Wands

Leave a Reply

