Homemade hot chocolate

I wanted to title this post, ‘Lazing on a Sunday afternoon’, after one of my favourite Queen at the Opera album but that didn’t embody what I wanted to write about today.  And, I didn’t think people would be able to find it if they searched for it. But that’s what I wanted to call it.

Hubby has been doing lots more DIY and we now have a tiled working shower! Wahey!  It’s glorious to shower with decent water pressure and a large rain like shower head. Absolute bliss!  Today, DH has been cutting walls and plumbing in the basin, toilet and roll top bath. Of course, those things are not in yet but he’s plumbed them in but hasn’t installed them yet. It’s coming and as long as I have my warm rain water shower I can be patient.

I’ve spent my day pottering about the house doing the laundry, preparing for the week ahead, making sunday lunch and apple crumble and playing with DD. Today, while I was busy, DD and and MIL sat making play dough creations with a spring theme.  See the little bird nests and Easter baskets?

IMG_8448

After our roast chicken and apple crumble lunch, I made homemade hot chocolate.  I do use the instant stuff but on a cold, wet, miserable day like today, only the homemade stuff will do.  And it’s a doddle to make.

Yes, you can add a little bit of squirty cream or some marshmallows but after the apple crumble we really didn’t need it.  Although, if it’d had either, you can bet your bubble butt I’d have put them on!

IMG_8454

Right, so measure out how much milk you need and pour it into a pot.  Set on the stove on low to heat up.   You can measure out your milk by filling up the mug you intend to use with milk and pouring into the pot.

Clever right?

So I made 2 1/2 cups of hot chocolate. Just enough for me, DH and DD.

IMG_8449

So into the pot of 2 1/2 cups of milk, add two tablespoons of cocoa powder and one teaspoon of vanilla extract.

IMG_8450

I had never used the good vanilla extract before since the regular store brand one was much cheaper.  OH MY GOSH!  I will never buy any other vanilla extract after tasting this Nielsen & Massey vanilla extract. Just sniffing it makes me smile and it revvs up the flavour in baking and hot chocolate like nothing else. Soooo much nicer than the horrid synthetic stuff.

Anyway, after you’ve added the vanilla and the milk is heating through gently whisk briskly to mix everythign through.

IMG_8451

When the milk is heated through to the desired temperature, pour into mugs and serve.

IMG_8454

Add cream and mashmallows to please yourself.

Sit somewhere quiet, and enjoy.

Bright blessings,

Mama R

x

Leave a Reply

