Corndog bites

Hello my lovelies,

Today you’re in for a wonderful treat cos I’m going to introduce you to corndog muffins.  These are just scrummy!

FullSizeRender

I first heard about corndogs when I listened to Ryan Shupe’s corndog song about 5 years ago.

then I saw a recipe somewhere for corndog bites and dismissed it because I had no idea you could get cornmeal England.  Today in England, I found cornmeal in the ethnic section and knew immediately what I had to make!

Corndog bites

6 herta frankfurters, cut into 9 pieces each

  • 1 cup self raising flour
  • 1/2 cup brown flour
  • 1 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • Butter for greasing the muffin tin or cooking spray

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees.  Spray 2 muffin tins with cooking spray or grease with the butter and set aside.

Mix all the remaining ingredients in a large bowl with a large whisk until the batter is smooth.  Divide the mixture between the two muffin tins (this mixture should make 24 corndog bites) then add 3 pieces of frankfurter per muffin hole.

Pop the muffin tins into the oven and bake until the corndog bites are puffed and golden and set in the centre. About 8-10 minutes. If you press one in the centre it should spring back.

Remove from the muffin tin and set on a wire rack to cool.

These corndog bites are great on their own or yummy with a little ketchup.   We had slow cooker chili tonight and I tried a corndog  bite dipped in and it was particularly yummy!

I must report, my quite picky 4 year old tried these a her snack on the way home from school today and loved them!

Wahey!

Bright blessings,

Mama R

Leave a Reply

