Christmas eve menu plan 2014

Hello my lovelies,

I know Christmas is still a few days away but I thought over the next few days I’d post our festive menues to give you some inspiration for your own festivities.

As you’ve seen from previous posts, we’re having a bit of a Nigella Christmas this year. I’m not doing many of her recipes for Christmas day because there are traditions to uphold there in terms of food but Christmas eve features some of her festive faves.

We start off the evening with Poinsettia‘s and virgin seasonal breeze for my daughter.

Then it’s traditional for us to serve a cheese platter featuring:

  • Brie with grapes
  • Camembert with cranberry jelly and Nigella’s chilli jam
  • Mature cheddar & Nigella’s Christmas chutney with pickles
  • Green thunder cheese which is a lovely little gem I found at the House & Home Christmas show
  • Smoked mussels
  • Ritz crackers

For hot snacks I’m doing Nigella’s cranberry & soy glazed sausages and sausage rolls.  It’s not a party without sausage rolls.  Besides, my daughter loves them.  I was tempted to make them but then opted to buy good quality ones at Waitrose.

Plus I’ll be serving the Seasonally spiced nuts and biltong which my hubby makes.

For afters, we’ve got homemade mince pies with the fruit mince I made using Delia’s recipe and of course, Nigella’s Festive Rocky Road.

35b5d9_ec0f68edae994c57bb03a4d1099d9176.jpg_srz_p_308_410_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_jpg_srz

I can’t wait to enjoy this feast!  After dinner, through which we’ll be listening to christmas carols from Mr Buble and possibly Idina Menzel – if I can get my hands on the album in time.

 At about 8:30, we’ll snuggle down with the fireplace going to watch the snowman.  If we’ve even got space we’ll be having festive hot chocolate and some popcorn.  Hopefully I’ll be able to get DD to calm down enough to sleep after the film!

 What do you have traditionally have for dinner on Christmas Eve?

 Bright blessings,

 Mama R x

Leave a Reply

