Christmas day menu plan 2014

Hello my lovelies,

People always ask me what I do for breakfast on Christmas day.  And the simple answer is that I cheat!

Waitrose does packs of unbaked pastries in their freezer section.  I get these and bake them on Christmas morning.  The house smells amazing what with pain au chocolat and croissants baking and the Starbucks Christmas blend percolating.  It’s a simple breakfast because for the rest of the morning I’m in and out of the kitchen.

Because we have Christmas dinner around 2-ish, I put out whatever hasn’t been eaten from the Christmas eve menu.  I usually put out some mince pies too.

We usually do turkey but this year we felt like switching it up a little and are having beef.  We of course kept the gammon that we always have but have changed the way we are cooking it.   So we’re having:

  • Cherry Cola slow cooked gammon with cranberry glaze
  • Roast beef with yorkshire puddings and gravy
  • Devils on horseback (prunes wrapped in prunes)
  • Turkey meatballs  (my little nod to the turkey tradition)
  • Roast potatoes
  • Honey parsnips
  • Creamed spinach
  • Green beans
  • Glazed carrots
  • Sweet potato fluff (sweet potatoes with butter and melted marshmallows)

For dessert I’m making:

  •  Rum and Raisin ice cream (hubby asked for this!  I know!  Weird one!)
  • Peppermint crisp tart (another of our traditions and a favourite from our South African roots)
  • Cape Brandy tart and vanilla ice cream (another favourite from South Africa).  This recipe and picture below is from Cook Sister‘s website.

35b5d9_c84b5b108e65430188b68ef4b0accffb.jpg_srz_p_500_750_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_jpg_srz

I love our Christmas day feast and I assure you we don’t eat like this every day!  For most of the year I’m on a diet but you’d never say!

 What do you like to have on Christmas day?

 Bright blessings,

 Mama R x

2 thoughts on “Christmas day menu plan 2014

Leave a Reply

