A Nigella Christmas

Hello my lovelies,

I have to share with you my all time favourite Christmas recipe book. It’s jam packed with all manner of kitschness and festive foodie joy. It is of course Nigella Lawson’s, Nigella Christmas.

35b5d9_f7da7304cf4048d694d5cd03c27e2a48.jpg_srz_p_448_500_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_jpg_srz

 Only Nigella could do Christmas the fun and need I say, classy-kitsch way? Who else can get away with serving Christmas rocky road with tiny vintage style mini reindeer and trees, icing sugar and edible glitter?  I’ve made this to go in hampers and some for us as our sweet treat on Christmas eve and my gosh, it’s blooming divine!
35b5d9_ec0f68edae994c57bb03a4d1099d9176.jpg_srz_p_308_410_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_jpg_srz

This year, I’ve made quite a few things from this wonderful book.  As soon as the first cranberries of the season were out, I just had to make the Christmas chutney.  Of course I used apples from our garden of which I had an abundance.  I’m only sorry I didn’t take a picture because this recipe needs a picture of how GORGEOUS it is.  I was supposed to wait a month before opening the jars but yeah, that wasn’t happening.  I tasted a little bit warm from the pot and it was delicious!  We’ve been having it on sandwiches with ham and cheese.  Super yummy!  I’ve also tried it with camembert cheese and it’s a definite foodgasm.

Here’s the recipe.

Nigella’s Christmas Chutney

Makes 2.2 litres

  • 750g cooking apples, peeled, cored and chopped into small pieces
  • 1 medium onion, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 500g fresh or frozen cranberries, thawed if frozen
  • 250g soft pitted dates, each date cut into 3
  • zest, pulp and juice of 2 clementines/satsumas
  • 400g caster sugar
  • 1/2 t ground cloves
  • 1 t ground ginger
  • 1 1/2 t ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 t cayenne pepper
  • 500ml white wine vinegar
  • 1 t table salt
  • Sterilized jars

 Sterilize your jars appropriately.

Place your the apples, onions, cranberries and dates into a large pan.

Zest the clementines/satsumas over the top, then squeeze in the juice and scrape in the pulp.  Add the sugar, ground cloves, ginger, cinnamon and cayenne pepper, then pour the vinegar over and sprinkle in the salt.

Now all you have to do is give it a good stir, turn on the heat, bring to the boil, then turn down the heat and let it bubble cheerfully, uncovered, for about an hour or until you have a pulpy mass.

Spoon into your warm, prepared jars and seal.

Believe me guys, you gotta try this chutney, it’s so good!

Make the chutney up to 2 months before using or giving (the longer it has to mature, the better). Store in a dark, cool place for up to 1 year. Once opened, store in the fridge and use within 1 month.

 Another great recipe I made from this wonderful book is Nigella’s Chilli Jam.  It’s another winner and is great used on anything you’d use sweet chilli sauce on.  It’s also really pretty to look at and makes a really good gift.

35b5d9_10c339eb80944c188cb14788a894a767.jpg_srz_p_308_410_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_jpg_srz

Knowing I’d be having people passing through the house quite a bit over the festive season, I made a double batch of Seasonally spiced nuts. These are a doddle to make and take hardly any time at all.  I’ve used some of mine in hampers in little celophane bags tied with ribbon and the rest are sealed in an airtight container waiting for company to arrive.

35b5d9_2678e1b074fd43d99d8f5a8be873567a.jpg_srz_p_120_148_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_jpg_srz

While this chocolate fudge recipe is not in her Christmas book, it should be.  It’s delicious!

 For hamper gifts, I made the vanilla sugar and the marinated feta cheese.  I had to make a couple extra of these for us to try at home too :p

On Christmas eve we are making the cranberry and soy glazed sausages which are already in the fridge marinating and for drinks we’re having Seasonal breezes and Poinsettias. I can’t wait to taste those!

I’ve had this book for about 4 years and have no idea why I haven’t used it more before now but I’m super glad I did!

 Bright blessings,

 Mama R  x

Leave a Reply

