Moist banana bread

I’ll be honest.  I’m not a huge banana fan. Unless I’m really  in the mood and unless the banana is cold and juuuuuuust about ripe, I don’t usually do banana.

 That said though, I do LOVE banana bread.

SONY DSC

This is my favourite recipe for making banana bread and not only is it a doddle it’s incredibly moist.  Perfect for serving for a ladies tea morning, for a lunchbox treat or toasted and spread with a little Nutella or peanut butter.

 Yum!

But you see I have a confession to make.  I cannot remember where I originally got this recipe.  I have it written out and I added my own notes to it, so while it wasn’t originally my recipe, I guess it’s become my own through my tweaking.

Moist banana bread

Makes one large loaf

 125g butter

200g caster sugar

2 large eggs, at room temperature

5ml good quality vanilla essence

280g plain flour

10ml baking powder

1ml salt

4 medium over ripe bananas, well mashed mixed with 30ml lemon juice

Set the oven to 150 degrees centigrade for a fan assisted oven or 180 degrees centigrade for a regular oven.

Grease a loaf tin.

Cream the butter and the sugar until light and creamy.  Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Add the vanilla essence and mix.

Add the dry ingredients and mix well.  Fold in the mashed bananas with the added lemon juice.

Pour into the greased loaf tin and bake for about 1 hour.  Please note that as always, baking times are subject to change if you are using a fan assisted oven.  I have a fan assisted oven and my banana bread took 1 hour and ten minutes to bake.

Allow to cool mostly in the pan then turn out gently and place on a baking rack to complete cooling.

Serve as is or spread with some soft unsalted butter with a cup of tea.

Variations:  You can change the recipe up by adding 120g of chocolate chips or the same amount of chopped walnuts.  You can add less than these amounts but I like a greedy amount of added loveliness!

 Bright blessings,

 Mama R

x

Leave a Reply

