Soda pop lemon curd cake

I don’t know if this happens to you but I get blog crushes.  And my latest blog crush is Pioneer Woman. I just love her recipes and down to earth style of writing.  Of course she’s got a beautiful home and a thriving business AND family life so I’m a little in awe of how she accomplishes that.  But aaaaanyway!

I was browsing her recipes and came across her Orange crush cake recipe. Today I was feeling a little blue what with this rainy weather we’ve been having this week and thought I’d have a crack at the orange crush cake.  Only…. I didn’t have fanta orange. Or orange food colouring.  Or indeed any oranges at all. I don’t even have a bundt pan.  But I did have Sprite and a  lemon. And yellow food colouring.  And a normal deep 8 inch pan. So I improvised.

SONY DSC

I must admit I had to tweek the recipe because once I’d added all the eggs the batter was very curdled!  Even after I had added all the flour it was still curdled. I also added some baking powder because I didn’t see any in this recipe and I wanted an impressive looking cake.   I’ve decided not to use the icing in the recipe either… I want a proper butter cream icing for my cake.  So well, I’m not sure this is a Pioneer Woman cake after all but rather my own cake based on her recipe?

I had baked the cake it it sat on the plate with the lemon curd filling ready to be iced when disaster struck!  I left the cake for a few minutes while I unpacked the dishwasher and was putting hubby’s oversized mug into the cupboard when the handle broke off of it and the mug landed on my cake!  It crushed it a bit and broke off a side of it but I managed to paste it all together with a little icing which is why it looks a bit ‘broken’ on the side. But ho hum!

Here’s the recipe:

Lemon Soda Pop Cake

2 1/2 cups of butter, softened

3 cups caster sugar

5 whole eggs

4 cups of plain flour

2t baking powder

1/2 t salt

1 cup of sparkling lemonade. I used Sprite.

2 drops yellow food colouring (optional)

2 t lemon essence

Grated rind of 1 lemon

Juice of 1 lemon

1 x 440g jar of lemon curd

 Buttercream icing:

250g butter, softened

2t lemon essence

600g icing sugar

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees centigrade (150 if you have a fan assisted oven) and grease a deep 2 x 8 inch cake tins.

Cream the butter and sugar well until light and fluffy.  Add the eggs one at a time and beat well between.  After the 3rd egg, add 1/2 cup of flour.  This should help with the curdling.  Mix well.  Add the rest of the eggs, mixing well in between.  Now mix the rest of the flour, salt and baking powder in a bowl.  Add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture a little at at time alternating with the sparkling lemonade.   Once blended add the lemon juice, lemon essence, rind and yellow food colouring, if using.

Pour into your cake tins and even out the tops with a spatula.   Bake for approximately 25 minutes depending on your oven and leave to cool completely in the tins before removing.

To make the buttercream icing:

 Mix all the ingredients together well and leave on the side.  It is easier for it to be room temperature when you’re icing the cake.

 When you’re ready to ice the cakes,  turn them out of the pans and spread the bottom layer with lemon curd.  Do this generously so that curd is falling a little over the sides. I do this because we are not going to be icing down the sides of the cake. Sandwich together again.  Ice the top of the cake generously with the lemon icing and decorate with grated lemon rind if you like.

Just one thing to bear in mind. This cake is deliciously moist and rich so serve up small slices. Or a big ‘ol slice if you have feel the need 🙂

Bright blessings,

 Mama R

x

Leave a Reply

