Camp Funshine Day 6 and a Moist Madeira Cake

Camp didn’t work out the way I planned today.  Firstly, we had to run to the grocery store because we were out of some staples.  Once there, we seemed to bump into everyone  we knew and landed up chatting!

On the way home, I was called by a friend who wanted to borrow something and meet George.  So, we had her and her children drop in.  Her youngest daughter stayed to play with DD  and the two girls have been having fun between playing mommies and babies, doctors and sick babies and adventures outside.

This has meant that I could get on with cleaning and since I didn’t have to entertain DD I decided to bake half of her birthday cake.  One of the top layers and one of the bottom layers.  She’s having a Sofia the First birthday party and I’m experimenting with a madiera cake recipe. I would normally use a sponge cake for a birthday cake but since this is my first two tier cake I’d like a slightly more firm cake and I believe Madeira is the way to go.

 I’m hoping to decorate thebottom layer of the cake for her birthday a little something like this cake from At Second Street.

35b5d9_8f5fb40df82b4b7d86a1dd529af51311.jpg_srz_p_427_640_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_jpg_srz

and the top like this gorgeous cake from salt cake city

35b5d9_c3a690a4f7394bed9cf49ab1f02e1191.jpeg_srz_p_600_900_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_jpeg_srz

I’m not planning on a sofia doll topper.   I bought a cute tiara from ebay and with candles and a number 4 sparkler.  Birthday’s are a definite sparkler occasion.   Here’s the Madeira recipe.

 Moist Madeira Cake

175g butter at room temperature

175g caster sugar

3 medium eggs, room temperature

250g plain flour, sifted

2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

3 tablespoons milk

Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add the eggs one at a time until well combined. Repeat with the second egg.  Add one teaspoon of flour and mix.  This stops the mixture from curdling.  Add the third egg, milk and vanilla extract and mix well.  Fold in the sifted flour until the mixture is well blended.  Don’t over mix and don’t beat or you will beat out all the air.

Place in a well greased baking tin and bake for about 40 minutes at 180 degrees centigrade.  A skewer inserted into the middle should come out clean.

Remove from the tin and allow to cool on a wire rack.  Decorate as desired.

Of course I’m placing the cakes in the freezer until the day before her birthday at which point I will ice it.  I’ll be making up the separate components of the cake like the large pearls and the amulet before the party.  More on those later so watch this space!#

If you try this recipe, let me know how it goes and I’ll be sure to post a picture of her birthday cake in August.

Bright blessings,

Mama R

x

Leave a Reply

