Christmas in July – Create a Christmas Control Journal

35b5d9_b9c911fe63c64d00bf4379814c619855.jpg_srz_p_610_458_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_jpg_srz

My good friend, Deborah, from Frugal Mom Chronicles posted yesterday on the importance of a Christmas Notebook. She and I actually met through a Yahoo Christmas group  in 2009 and have stayed friend ever since.  Our love of Christmas is ever a subject of discussion.  I think it was a couple of years ago that she taught me about the Christmas notebook and while I started one, I never really kept it up.  I used it the year we had our Hogwarts Yule ball but didn’t keep it up for subsequent Christmases.  I think this is the year to get back on track with a proper Christmas Control Journal.

Deborah’s post reminded me about Organized Christmas, an absolutely free website with various different plans to help you prepare for the holidays.  We’re talking from cleaning to preparing Christmas dinner and they have awesome free printables.

Another site I’ve come across and used before is ChristmasOrganzing .com.  They have free Christmas organizing classes and printables too.

101daystochristmas.com is another useful site that focuses on daily messages with a simple step by step to getting organized for a peaceful Christmas.

 Another site I like is  christmasplanner.com – loads of great stuff here.

 There is no right or wrong way to put your Christmas Control Journal together but I would suggest at least having the following sections – in no particular order:

  • Budget

  • Planning

  • Calendar

  • Lists

  • Decorating

  • Cards

  • Entertaining

  • Food

  • Crafts

  • Gifts (purchased, homemade and from catalogues or orders online)

  • Receipts

  • Schedule

 There will probably be things that you want to add that I haven’t suggested so go right ahead. It’s your Christmas Control Journal. The only thing I would suggest is not to get too obsessed with making it a perfectly beautiful work of art.  It’s meant to be a working control journal. One of these days I’ll make my own control journal for you to download.

 So get on the Christmas in July sleigh and prepare for a peaceful festive season.

 Bright blessings,

 Mama R

x

Leave a Reply

