Unorthadox breakfasts for a toddler

**this was a post from my previous blog**

Today I had a motivated day which was really part of a series of motivated days that started last Friday.  It happens to me a lot.

But anyway, while I was super motivated I decided to bake.  DD has been refusing her usual toast and honey for breakfast and I reckon she’s getting bored.  She hates cereal and won’t touch porridge.  So, I have to get a little creative.  And what I came up with, thanks to a few recipes from Heavenly Homemakers, thecattylife and About.com is the following:

SONY DSC

From left to right:  Banana and pineapple cake, Zucchini and apple muffins, carrot and pineapple muffins, oat and white chocolate breakfast cookies

Banana and pineapple cake:  I used thecattylife’s recipe but added half a can of pineapple pieces because I had quite a bit left over from last night’s Goodie burgers.  The result is a lovely moist and tropical flavoured cake.

 Zucchini and apple muffins:  I used about.com’s recipe but substituted the 1/2 cup of carrot with two grated apples that were starting to look worse for wear.  You’d think that zucchini in a muffin would be gross but because of the cinnamon in the recipe this tastes like an apple and cinnamon muffin and is really good!

Carrot and pineapple muffins: I basically made up another batch of the the zucchini and apple muffin and substituted the zucchini and apple for carrot and pineapple pieces.  Another winner!

Breakfast cookies:  I didn’t have any wholewheat flour as the recipe called for so I added 1 1/2 cups of plain white flour and 1/2 a cup of bran and it seemed to work just as well.

To make these oaty cookies a little more interesting to a 21 month old who doesn’t do raisins, I added a package of white chocolate chips that I had lurking in my cupboard.   The result is rather more like a heavy scone than a cookie per se but it’s edible.  The recipe was not in my opinion sweet enough, so once I’d baked the first batch and tasted one, I added 1/2 cup of honey which greatly improved the flavour. Since I’d messed with the consisitency by adding the honey I had to add a 1/4 cup of flour to get the consistency right again.

The nice thing about all of these recipes is that DD will be getting vegetables and fruit along with the protein from the eggs and the dairy from the buttermilk and butter as well as fibre and vitamins.  I guess cake for breakfast is a little unorthodox for a toddler but I reckon there’s probably more goodness in these baked goods than there is in most cereals.  For the most part, a piece of breakfast cake, maybe some chopped fruit and some milk or a smoothie goes a long way toward her health goals per day so I’m not going to feel bad.

Bright blessings,

Mama R

x

Leave a Reply

