Cheap freezer meals – prep today, eat tomorrow II

presentation12

I think I have finally bitten off more than I can chew! Especially since I’m still recovering from the past 48 hours stomach bug!

Earlier this month, I had a plan so cunning you could put a tail on it and call it a weasel. I decided to fill my freezer with delicious foods that would save me time in the kitchen.

blackadder

The freezer plan was designed to help give me more time to relax in the evenings while I learn to crochet; work on personal development and to give me some sanity in the mornings.

DH has suggested that it would be great to have breakfast together as a family, like him and I used to when we first got married.  BEFORE a job that had him leaving the house at 6:30 am and BEFORE DD was born.  I cussed him under my breath for a few days with my stinkin’ thinkin’ but then realised it would be a lovely thing to do as a family.

Also, I have long been annoyed at my current morning habits. You see, I get up when DD does – usually to the sound of her asking for a drink and her rocketing around the room. This does not make for a good wake up call for me.  I usually head downstairs then and get myself a coffee before logging onto Facebook.  Eeek!  A horrible routine I know!

By the time I surface an hour or so later, I am demotivated and just wanna mooch around in my pyjamas all day.  Getting up before DD would mean I could have a shower and get a jump start on the day!  I could get breakfast ready AND THEN wake her and we could eat together and she could see DH before work.

Point is, I created a rather ambitious freezer plan!  To prepare freezer dinners – using 6 chickens this time AND ground beef, lunches for DD AND breakfasts!  What in the world was I thinking?

Anyway, the groceries arrived this morning and I packed it all away then started jointing chickens.  If you are not familiar with how to do this, check out yesterday’s blog post on freezer cooking entitled, Cheap freezer meals – prep today, eat tomorrow.  Jointing a chicken is NOT difficult.  I am not a butchers daughter or anything, I just watched a couple of youtube videos.  A whole chicken is a lot cheaper than ready jointed pieces and breasts!  It takes about 8 minutes per chicken and what you get out is:

SONY DSC

2 thighs, 2 breasts, 2 wings, 2 chicken tenders, 2 drumsticks and some chicken scrapings if you follow the method I showed you in my last post on freezer cooking.

Because a few small posts are easier to write than one MAHOOSIVE one I’m breaking it down. Also, I’m not super human yet! I definitely overdid it and I am feeling dead on my feet.

So anyway, today I focused on the dinner part of my freezer plan.  I figured the chicken would not keep and so had to be prepared and frozen asap.

Once I’d jointed my chickens, I had 60 pieces of chicken and a large portion of chicken scrapings. I made:

2 x chicken crockpot curry kits:  consisting of 2 chicken breasts chopped into small cubes with store bought curry sauce added (they were on sale)- I used a korma and a madras – with an onion & pepper sliced into each pack a pack of naan breads taped to the kit.

2 x chicken pot pie kits:  consisting of 3 chicken breasts chopped into small cubes, a tin of condensed mushroom soup opened and poured in, 2 cups each of frozen mixed vegetables, one onion and one pepper sliced into each with a chopped stick of celery.  I taped a package of ready to roll shortcrust pastry to the the freezer bag too.  et Voila!  Chicken pot pie kit.  This ordinarily would have been too much of a schlep to arrange so we’d only have it once in a while.

2 x chicken fajita kits:  consisting of 2 chicken breasts, sliced.  Taco seasoning added.  You can check out the recipe at All recipes. Oh, and a taped a bag of wholemeal tortillas to the freezer bag. Since I will not be tossing this into the crockpot I did not add the onion or peppers. I like the peppers and onion to have a little crunch so will add them fresh.

These freezer kits are the ultimate in no thinking dinner prep.

AS WITH ALL FREEZER COOKING, DO NOT FORGET TO CLEARLY LABEL WITH CONTENTS AND THE DATE!

1 x bbq chicken wings – I tossed a half a bottle of leftover BBQ sauce into the ziplock bag with the wings.  I intend to serve these with twice baked potatoes (which I will be making up to freeze later this week) and cob corn.

Since I had a large bag of chicken scrapings and only 12 tenders, I sliced the tenders and added them to scrapings.  I then divided them into 4 small ziplock bags and added some store bought stir fry sauces that were on sale.  I got 4 chinese sauces for £2 so I wasn’t going to complain. So, on top of the curry, pot pie, fajita kits and bbq chicken wings I also have a:

1 x sweet & sour chicken – will add frozen stir fry vegetables and serve with rice

1 x sweet chilli & garlic chicken – will add frozen stir fry vegetables and serve with rice

1 x chow mein – will add frozen stir fry vegetables and serve with rice

1 x chicken teriyaki – will add frozen stir fry vegetables and serve with rice

All this and I haven’t even dealt with the chicken drumsticks or thighs yet! Lordy, I haven’t even touched the minced beef yet!

I also let DD help me to make Banana-bran muffins.

BG4393

I adapted this recipe from Eating well and am so pleased at how they came out. Not only are they practically fat free, they are denser and just oh so yummy and enriched with vitamin E and folic acid thanks to the wheatgerm I added. Here’s my adapted recipe which I doubled to give me 24 large breakfast muffins.
4 large eggs
1 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
2 cups mashed ripe bananas, (4 medium bananas)
2 cup ‘sour milk’ mix 1 t lemon juice or vinegar with 1 cup semi-skimmed milk
1 cup wheat bran
1 cup wheatgerm
1/2 cup apple sauce
2 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 1/2 cups all purpose flour
3 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt ( did not double this as I didn’t want too much salt)
2/3 cup chopped walnuts
2/3 cup broken up banana chips

I’ll be making  2 beef bases for cottage pie to which a cup of frozen mixed veggies is added (might do a kit with some mashed potatoes with this) and 2 bolognese spaghetti sauce which is basically beef mince base with a can of tomatoes added. Oh yes, and I’ll be dealing with the chicken thighs and drums! Looks like it’s gonna be a very long day!!!

Thursday, I want to get the breakfast sandwiches and pancakes made.

Friday will include a lot of baking for the twice baked potatoes, mashed potatoes and the breakfast cups. Not to mention some of my daughters lunches and the baking for those lunches. And then there’s the low soups for my lunches too! Those might have to wait until Monday.

All in between doing laundry and playing with my daughter.  I promised to take her to the local museum tomorrow so that will have to be factored in too.

It’s gonna be a very long week!

But when it’s done, it will be worth it!

Bright blessings,

Mama R

x

Leave a Reply

